17 August 2017calendar | homepage sitemapcontacts  
Join the civilpost community  |  Log In   |  Register
|   RSS  
civilpost.org - the interests of civil society

The Slovak Republic joins the OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC)

Source:  OECD

The Slovak Republic joins the OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC)

The Slovak Republic has become the 27th member of the OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC), the leading international forum for bilateral providers of development co-operation.

Slovakia’s accession to the DAC comes after a period of rapid expansion in its development activities, notably growth of official development assistance (ODA) from $28 million to $92 million over the 2004-08 period. Its bilateral assistance is concentrated in the Balkans and Eastern Europe, as well as in several low-income countries including Kenya, South Sudan and Afghanistan. Projects and programmes focus on building democratic institutions and a market economy, as well as on promoting social, economic and infrastructure development. The Slovak Republic’s multilateral assistance is mainly channelled through the European Union. 

“I am convinced that our accession to the DAC will further reinforce the Slovak Republic’s progress in its development work,” said Peter Burian, State Secretary at the Slovak Republic’s Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs. “Moreover, as a relatively new donor, Slovakia can also bring fresh insights to the DAC´s deliberations.”

DAC Chair Erik Solheim said the Slovak Republic’s membership will bring many benefits to the Committee. “I strongly believe that Slovakia has much to contribute to the DAC´s work, by sharing valuable knowledge and experience acquired during its transition to a market economy and its integration with the European Union,” Mr Solheim said. “We are looking for new dimensions that Slovakia can bring to the Committee’s discussions.”

The Slovak Republic is the third OECD member to join the DAC in 2013, following the accession of Iceland on 14 March and the Czech Republic on 14 May. “Our goal is that all OECD countries, present and future, will become DAC members,” said OECD Secretary-General Angel Gurría. “We will support this process in any way we can,” Mr Gurria said during Slovakia’s accession ceremony.

Further information on Slovak Republic’s accession to DAC is available at: http://www.oecd.org/dac/peer-reviews/slovakia.htm and about the OECD Development Assistance Committee at:  http://www.oecd.org/dac/

DAC Members

The DAC currently has 27 members. Candidate countries are assessed in terms of the following criteria: the existence of appropriate strategies, policies and institutional frameworks that ensure capacity to deliver a development co-operation programme; an accepted measure of effort; and the existence of a system of performance monitoring and evaluation.

As members of the DAC, countries pledge to implement forthwith the Recommendations adopted by the DAC since its inception and to commit to use DAC guidelines and reference documents in formulating national development co-operation policies. They also provide the annual submission of required ODA statistics and, on request, summary information describing their aid efforts and policies to be included in the Development Co-operation Report. Members undertake to participate in meetings of the DAC and at least one of its subsidiary bodies. Finally, DAC members agree to submit to a regular Peer Review of their development co-operation, undertaken by the DAC and the OECD/DCD, and to serve as an examiner in reviewing other member programmes.



 Australia  Germany  New Zealand
 Austria  Greece  Norway
 Belgium  Ireland  Portugal
 Canada  Italy  Spain
 Denmark  Japan  Sweden
 European Union  Korea  Switzerland
 Finland  Luxembourg  United Kingdom
 France  The Netherlands  United States

subjects Multilateral Aid | Development | Official Development Assistance (ODA) | OECD

Back to the list

Message Text*
Spam bot protection (CAPTCHA)
Load image